This was a painting I finished about a month ago.  It was a commission for a client who had lost his beloved dog, Nala.  This painting was done with love and I took time in making sure everything was right.  When I gave the painting to my client I could tell that there was a real connection between him and the painting.  It was fantastic to know that this painting went to a nice home that will be loved.  He told me that he was going to hang it above the place where she always slept.

This is the reference photo (such a beautiful fur!)  He requested that the nose be shown in the painting, so I went to a friends house to look at her husky dogs to come up with a correct nose.

nala.jpg

These are the thumbnails I let him pick from.  The one on the left is the traditional and the one on the right is more abstract.  He picked the traditional.

1021104537_01

This is the preprinting done in raw umber.DSCF5547

Then here’s the painting in progress, finishing the figure in the painting and leaving the sheets.  The mistake I made was that I didn’t do the sheets first in the background, but it all turned out well.1228203051_091226144736_05

This dog was loved well by the owner and the painting will be loved for just as long.  I want to thank the client for this opportunity, it let me build on top of my oil painting skills because this was the first few paintings I have done in the medium.  I hope you are enjoying this.

